Many sex crimes revolve around the age of consent. When facing charges, you should make sure that you completely understand what this means.
According to the Alabama Department of Human Resources, the age of consent in the state means the age at which a person is old enough to legally consent to sexual conduct.
The age of consent
The age of consent in Alabama is 16 years old. What this means is a 16-year-old can legally consent to sexual relations, but it does not make all sexual conduct legal.
Since the age of consent is under 18 years old, which is the legal age of adulthood, it is not a blanket permission for children aged 16 and 17 to engage in sexual activity with anyone else, especially those over the age of 18. Other laws may dictate that someone over the age of 18 engaging in consensual sexual activity with someone age 16 or 17 is still illegal. It often depends on the situation.
It is also important to understand that consent is also not always present depending on the circumstances. A person cannot give consent if he or she is physically or mentally unable to comprehend the situation, forced into the activity, a student of the other person in the relationship or a foster child of the other person.
Consent law can be complex. You should never assume consent just because of age. Neither should you assume consent just because the other person is willing to enter into a sexual relationship. The law is specific about who can consent and when to protect those who are vulnerable to abuse.