Honest Case Evaluations. Unyielding Legal Advocacy.

  1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. DUI
  4.  » What are the penalties for DUI in Alabama?

What are the penalties for DUI in Alabama?

On Behalf of | Feb 17, 2022 | DUI

It can be frightening when you find yourself dealing with the police after leaving a bar or party. The first thing that you might wonder is what will happen to you.

The state of Alabama has very clearly defined rules and penalties when it comes to driving while intoxicated or DUI. The state bases the penalties on how many offenses you have already. These penalties do not include DUIs involving accidents or injury to another person.

First offense

You can face up to a year in jail and/or a $600 to $2,100 fine for your first offense. They will also suspend your license for 90 days. There is also the possibility that you will have to have an ignition interlock device put on your car, which will not allow you to start your car without checking your blood alcohol level.

Second offense

Your second offense is much worse than the first. You will face up to a year in jail, including the possibility of hard labor. They will also fine you between $1,100 and $5,100. On top of this, you will lose your license for three years. You may also have an ignition interlock device put onto your vehicle.

Third offense

The third time you receive a DUI conviction, you will face a mandatory 60 days in jail with the possibility of hard labor. The maximum amount of time they can sentence you for, in this case, is one year. You will lose your license for three years.

These penalties are considerably worse after subsequent convictions if your DUI involves an accident, injury or property damage.